Skip to content

April Meeting Report

April 28, 2011

Our fourth meeting was a success. Those in attendance were Amy Tams, JaNea Jones, Sherry White, Lorraine Peck, and Jessica Anderson. Sherry was a gracious hostess with still-warm brownies waiting to greet us!

We had a lovely discussion of These Is My Words. We all enjoyed the book, particularly the romance between Sarah and Captain Jack. The discussion dwelt for sometime on the relationship between Sarah and Captain Jack and what clues we were given about their characters and their marriage. We discussed the obstacles the settlers faced in almost every aspect of life. Most of us we very emotionally involved with the struggles and heartaches of the characters as they faced death, crime, disabilities, and sickness. We noted, in particular, how awful child birth must have been in such circumstances. We’re all grateful for the many modern conveniences around us!

Along with conversion on a myriad of topics, we also managed to squeeze in some other book talk. Here’s what we’ve been reading:

  • Amy has been channeling spring-time energy into rereading some Jane Austen favorites, like Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice.
  • JaNea has been reading books with her school classes like The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, by Barbara Robinson and Dear Jo, by Christina Kilbourne, along with trying to get through John Grisham’s The Testament.
  • Sherry has been reading books with her family like The Long Way Gone, by Ishmael Beah, and she also liked Odd Thomas, by Dean Koontz.
  • Lorraine has been enjoying some retellings of fairy tales like Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister, by Gregory Maguire, courtesy of her daughter-in-law.
  • Among other, happier, books, Jessica recently read Wintergirls, by Laurie Halse Anderson, a book about a girl suffering with anorexia.

What have you been reading?

2 Comments
  1. Lorraine permalink
    April 29, 2011 10:42 pm

    I wish it had been my sister who gave me the book, but I lost my only sister about 4 years ago. My daughter-in-law, Lisa, who knows how much I have always loved fairy tales, gave me the book. But I do have 4 exceptional sisters-in-law, Pam, Teresa, Deb, and Rhea Dawn whom I love as much as the great guys (my brothers) they married.

  2. May 14, 2011 7:57 pm

    Lorraine, I’m so sorry for the mistake. I’ve corrected it now. My memory isn’t as good as it used to be!

Comments are closed.